Wednesday, March 18, 2026

Gulp

 So… first day of filming is officially DONE.

Wait side note I think it's bad 99% of my blogs now have ... I promise I am not that negative!

Anywayssss, it actually went pretty well, but of course, nothing can ever go 100% smooth. We got to the location, got everything ready, set up the camera, and right when we were about to start… the mics were broken. Of course. Like actually of course. At that moment I was like okay great this is how we’re starting.

So obviouslyyy I had to improvise and figure out how to hide them and still make it work. I ended up placing them in ways that wouldn’t be visible on camera but could still (hopefully) pick up sound. It wasn’t ideal, but it was one of those moments where I had to just adapt and move on instead of wasting time. Did I test it? Yes. Did I make sure every scene worked well with the audio? Next question. 

For this first day, I decided to film the beginning of the film, the flashback of the crash. This is literally one of the most important parts of the whole story. No pressure tho!

And I’m gonna be honest… I don’t know how I feel about it. This post is very negative I'm sorry.

Kyle (my main actor) actually did really good. Like I was genuinely happy with his performance, especially in the scene where he’s arguing on the phone, that one came out good. BUT… my beautiful best friend Gaby… yeah… acting is not her calling  (I love her though). It just didn’t come out as natural as I wanted, and I think that’s part of what’s making me second guess the scene.



Let's take a looky look!

Not the best party girl..

Also the lighting was kind of weird, and I can’t tell if I’m overthinking it or if it actually looks off. I feel like last year my film worked so well because I didn’t rely on other people as much, and now I am, so it’s kind of stressing me out because I can’t control everything the same way.

BUT I’m trying not to panic. I’m just going to edit the footage first and see how it looks, because sometimes things look way better once it’s all put together. And the good thing is I still have time, so if I really hate it… I can re-film.

Now for the good parts, because there WERE good parts. And to try to be a little more positive!



Trust the process, cause I certainly am trying too!

The crash scene actually came out good, I just need to edit the end and add sound. Like I was scared it was going to look fake, but it ended up being really convincing. Kyle literally did a break check that almost gave me a heart attack, I genuinely thought he was going to mess up my car for a second. But it worked perfectly for the scene, so I can’t even be mad.
'
Filming itself was actually really fun, but it was SO cold. Like painfully cold. I get cold super easily, so I was freezing the entire time. And Gaby was in a dress… so honestly I feel worse for her because that must have been brutal.

Overall though, I would say it was a successful first day. Not perfect, definitely some things I’m unsure about, but we got important scenes done, I learned what I need to fix, and now I know what to improve for the next filming days.

So yeah… slight stress, slight doubt, but also excited to see how it turns out once I start editing. I plan on doing this as soon as possible just in case it doesn't go my way.

I promise guys next blog I am going to be like this: 


No comments:

Post a Comment

Gulp

 So… first day of filming is officially DONE. Wait side note I think it's bad 99% of my blogs now have ... I promise I am not that negat...